After brainstorming all of my ideas for my personal project I have been researching and investigating thoroughly identity and the life of Malala Yousafzai. After much research I have decided that I am going to focus on the idea of how critical events in our life shape the person we are or our identity.

What is Identity?
The characteristics determining who or what a person or thing is. Our identity is shaped by many factors both internal and external. Some of which include our family, culture, gender, religion and appearance.

About Malala
Malala is a school student and education activist from the town of Mingora in Pakistan. She is known for her women's rights activism where the Taliban has specifically banned girls from attending school. As a child Malala became an advocate for girl's education resulting in the Taliban issuing a death threat. Malala's father is an anti-taliban activist which influenced her to also stand up for what she believed in. On October 9th 2012, Malala was shot in the head in an assassination attempt by the Taliban while on a school bus. The Taliban claimed credit for this and vowed to kill her for encouraging ideas about education. 

I have gathered lots of interesting and useful information from Malala's very own blog, which is available on the BBC website. This blog details her life under the Taliban rule and her views on education for women.

Blog available from:  http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7834402.stm

I will also incorporate various quotes from Malala which are going to support my focus for the project.
"One child, one teacher, one book and one pen can change the world."

"My goal is not to get the Noble Peace Prize. My goal is to get peace and to see education of every child."

"I don't know why people have divided the whole world into two groups; eastern and western. Education is neither easter nor western, education is education and it's the right of every human being."

"I believe there is no difference between a man and a woman. I even believe that women are even more powerful than man."

"I raise up my voice- not so that I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard."

As I continue to read about the life of Malala, many ideas and features of identity can be perceived.  Malala has surely found and shaped her identity as a result of events and obstacles throughout her life. 



Leave a Reply.